# CRESTON COMMUNITY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT #161 OPEN SESSION MEETING MINUTES

# Board of Education Regular Meeting May 23, 2016

## Call to Order and Roll Call

President Brian Sieg called the meeting to order and on roll call, the following members were:

**Physically Present:** Brian Sieg, President

Miriah Ranken, Secretary Amy Kerns, Treasurer

Michelle Coglianese, Board Member

Tonya Sarver, Board Member Matt Hueber, Board Member

**Present By Other Means:** None

**Absent:** Erik Petry, Vice President

Also present were Superintendent Dr. Bill Robertson and Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent Karen Collins.

#### Pledge of Allegiance

President Brian Sieg led the Board of Education and the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### **Presentations**

None

### **Superintendent's Report**

- 1. Grant Applications: Dr. Robertson discussed with the Board the grant applications that we have submitted and the future grants for which we will be submitting.
- 2. \$2,500.00 Grant Award from CHS Ethanol Plant: Dr. Robertson discussed with the Board the Grant we received from CHS Ethanol Plant and how we will utilize the funds.
- 3. SB231: School Funding Reform: Dr. Robertson provided information to the Board regarding SB231: School Funding Reform and the possible impact to the school district.
- 4. HB696: Property Tax Freeze Legislation: Dr. Robertson discussed with the Board regarding HB696: Property Tax Freeze Legislation.

## **Consent Agenda Action Items**

- a. Approval of Minutes: Open Session Regular Meeting of April 25, 2016; Open Session Special Meeting of April 14, 2016.
- b. Approval of April 2016 Treasurer's Report
- c. Approval of Bills for Payment

Mrs. Sarver made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Kerns, that the consent agenda be approved as presented.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese

Tonya Sarver Matt Hueber

Nay: None

Absent: Erik Petry

The motion carried unanimously.

#### **Old Business**

- a. Action to Adopt Proposed Revised Policy: 7:190 Student Behavior (Second Reading)
- b. Action to Adopt Proposed Revised Policy: 7:200 Suspension Procedures (Second Reading)
- c. Action to Adopt Proposed Revised Policy: 7:210 Expulsion Procedures (Second Reading)
- d. Action to Adopt Proposed Revised Policy: 7:220 Bus Conduct (Second Reading)

Mrs. Coglianese made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Ranken, that the Board of Education adopt the following: revised policy 7:190 Student Behavior, revised policy 7:200 Suspension Procedures, revised policy 7:210 Expulsion Procedures, and revised policy 7:220 Bus Conduct.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese

Tonya Sarver Matt Hueber

Nay: None

Absent: Erik Petry

The motion carried unanimously.

#### **New Business**

a. Action to Adopt Resolution Establishing Prevailing Wage

Mrs. Ranken made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Sarver, that the Board of Education adopt the Resolution establishing prevailing wage as presented.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese

Tonya Sarver

Nay: Matt Hueber

Absent: Erik Petry

The motion carried by majority vote.

b. Action to Adopt Resolution Authorizing the Issuance of Educational Fund Tax Anticipation Warrants in the Amount of \$150,000.00 in Anticipation of the Collection of Taxes Levied for the Year 2016.

Mrs. Ranken made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Kerns, that the Board of Education adopt the Resolution authorizing the issuance of educational fund tax anticipation warrants in the amount of \$150,000.00 with 2.5% interest and a maturity date of one year from the date of issuance in anticipation of the collection of taxes levied for the year 2016.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese

Tonya Sarver Matt Hueber

Nay: None

Absent: Erik Petry

The motion carried unanimously.

c. Discussion Concerning Transmission of Previously Adopted Resolution Opposing the Construction of the Great Lakes Basin Transportation Rail Line to Other Elected Officials. The Board asked Dr. Robertson to submit the previously adopted resolution to a list of dignitaries.

#### **Correspondence**

None

### **Announcements**

The next regular meeting of the Board of Education will be June 27, 2016.

#### Adjourn to Closed Session

Mrs. Sarver made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Coglianese, that the Board of Education enter closed session to review closed session minutes; discuss the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees; litigation; and collective negotiations.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese

Tonya Sarver Matt Hueber

Nay: None

Absent: Erik Petry

The motion carried unanimously.

The Board entered closed session at 7:20 p.m.

The Board returned to open session at 8:17 p.m.

# **Closed Session Meeting Minutes**

Mrs. Sarver made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Kerns, that the Board of Education approve the closed session meeting minutes from April 25,2016.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese

Tonya Sarver Matt Hueber

Nay: None

Absent: Erik Petry

The motion carried unanimously.

# **Collective Negotiations**

Mrs. Ranken made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Sarver, that the Board of Education approve the four-year Collective Bargaining Agreement between the Board of Education and Creston Education Association.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese

Tonya Sarver Matt Hueber

Nay: None

Absent: Erik Petry

The motion carried unanimously.

# **Public Comments**

The following people addressed the Board of Education for public comments: None  Adjournment  Board President Brian Sieg adjourned the meeting at 8:21 p.m.			
Brian Sieg – President	Date		
Miriah Ranken – Secretary	Date		