CRESTON COMMUNITY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT #161 OPEN SESSION MEETING MINUTES

Board of Education Regular Meeting June 22, 2015

Call to Order and Roll Call

President Brian Sieg called the meeting to order and on roll call, the following members were:

Physically Present: Brian Sieg, President

Erik Petry, Vice President Miriah Ranken, Secretary Amy Kerns, Treasurer

Michelle Coglianese, Board Member Tonya Sarver, Board Member

Present By Other Means: None

Absent: Matt Hueber, Board Member

Also present were Superintendent Dr. Bill Robertson and Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent Karen Collins.

Pledge of Allegiance

President Brian Sieg led the Board of Education and the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Presentations

1. 2014 Levy Extension: Dr. Robertson gave a brief presentation to the Board on the 2014 Tax Levy Extension.

Superintendent's Report

1. Construction Update: Dr. Robertson provided the Board of Education with an update on the status of the construction projects.

Consent Agenda Action Items

a. Approval of Minutes: Open Session Regular Meeting of May 18, 2015

- b. Approval of May 2015 Treasurer's Report
- c. Approval of Bills for Payment

Mrs. Sarver made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Ranken, that the consent agenda be approved as presented.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Erik Petry Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese

Tonya Sarver

Nay: None

Absent: Matt Hueber

The motion carried unanimously.

Old Business

None

New Business

a. Action to Vote for Cheryl Robinson (District Administrator) for the Northwestern Illinois Association Sub-Region III Executive Board.

Mrs. Sarver made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Kerns, that the Board of Education vote for Cheryl Robinson (District Administrator) for the Northwestern Illinois Association Sub-Region III Executive Board.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Erik Petry Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese

Tonya Sarver

Nay: None

Abstain: Miriah Ranken

Absent: Matt Hueber

The motion carried by majority vote.

b. Action to vote for Pam Ransom (School Board Member) for the Northwestern Illinois Association Sub-Region III Executive Board.

Mr. Petry made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Sarver, that the Board of Education vote for Pam Ramson as the school board member representative for the Northwestern Illinois Association Sub-Region III Executive Board.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Erik Petry Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese

Tonya Sarver

Nay: None

Abstain: Miriah Ranken

Absent: Matt Hueber

The motion carried by majority vote.

Correspondence

None

Announcements

The next regular meeting of the Board of Education will be July 27, 2015.

Adjourn to Closed Session

Mrs. Coglianese made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Ranken, that the Board of Education enter closed session to review closed session minutes; discuss the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees; litigation; and collective negotiations.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Erik Petry Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese Tonya Sarver

Nay: None

Absent: Matt Hueber

The Board entered closed session at 7:24 p.m.

The Board returned to open session 8:25 p.m.

Closed Session Meeting Minutes

Mrs. Sarver made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Kerns, that the Board of Education approve the closed session meeting minutes from January 26, 2015

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Brian Sieg

Erik Petry Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns

Michelle Coglianese Tonya Sarver

Nay: None

Absent: Matt Hueber

The motion carried unanimously.

Appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees

Mr. Petry made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Kerns, that the Board of Education approve the one-year Employment Contract as presented for Emily Erickson-Betz as Director of Education for July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016 at a base salary of \$58,295.39 and with benefits in accordance with those provided in the teachers' Collective Bargaining Agreement for the 2015-2016 school year, except that vacation days shall be 10 days per year.

On which motion a r	oll call was held with t	the following	results:
Aye:	Brian Sieg Erik Petry Miriah Ranken Amy Kerns Michelle Cogliane Tonya Sarver	se	
Nay:	None		
bsent: Matt Hueber			
The motion carried ι	ınanimously.		
Public Comments			
The following people	e addressed the Board	l of Education	n for public comments: None
<u>Adjournment</u>			
Board President Bri	an Sieg adjourned the	meeting at 8:	30 p.m.
Brian Sieg – Preside	ent	-	Date
		_	

Date

Miriah Ranken – Secretary